What’s the Point of Schlepping Around?

My Love – Bluma Yelkanovich

Bluma was born in 1919 in Belarus

Bluma Yelkanovich, Montefiore resident
Bluma Yelkanovich, Montefiore resident

I was 17 when I met my future husband Samuel who was 27.

The year was 1936 and we both lived in Shklov, Mogilev Uezd, Belarus. During the Civil War in Russia, Samuel was a partisan.

Being my brother’s friend, Samuel frequently came to visit him at our home.

Then he started bringing flowers and sweets for me. My parents saw a change in his attitude and quickly held a family meeting to discuss our future.

They decided that the best option was to get married soon.

“What’s the point of schlepping* around?” they said shrugging their shoulders.

We got married in my parents’ flat and then moved to Samuel’s parents’ home.

Market place in Shklov, Mogilev Uezd

I gave birth to our daughter Roza, and then World War II began. Samuel never returned from the battlefield…

It was hard to become a widow and a single mum at such a young age but what could I do? There were widows and orphans everywhere…

Later on I remarried and had another daughter Lyalya.


* Schlepping is a Yiddish word that means “moving slowly in a clumsy manner”


Please share our stories with your loved ones and on social media using our hashtag #Mylove

Leave a comment