I packed my little suitcase and left with Henri…

Elizabeth Just
Elizabeth Just, Healthy Ageing Program client

My Love – Elizabeth Just

Born in Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic in 1930, moved to Melbourne in 1949

I met Henri at a soccer game in Melbourne in 1952 as we were both soccer fans.

He came with his friend, who I also knew, and we got introduced.

When I looked at Henri I straightaway knew that this gorgeous gentleman with big blue eyes and blond hair was my future husband. Actually, his looks helped him to survive in the Holocaust as he didn’t look stereotypically Jewish.

Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic

It turned out that back in Czech Republic we lived only 40 km away from each other. There, Henri studied for a doctor’s degree but the war interrupted his plans…

Henri asked me for a date and since then we never separated. He was a very gentle, mature, clever and family-oriented man. I couldn’t ask for more.

We were going out for 2 years, seeing the greatest opera concerts and ballet performances and dining in the best restaurants.

Once we passed a jewellery store in the City where I saw a beautiful brooch. I mentioned how nice it was and Henri went in and bought it for me without further questions.

Henri became a real estate agent, while I worked and studied in tailor’s college to become an interior designer. I also designed my own clothes.

We got married at St Kilda Hebrew Congregation in the presence of 40 guests.
Mum cooked a nice dinner in honour of the wedding, and then I packed my little suitcase and left with Henri. 

1926Synagogue
St Kilda Hebrew Congregation

As a family, we loved Australian nature and sightseeing and together with our son Andrew we travelled throughout the country by car.

It’s been 2 years since Henri passed away but I still love him with my whole heart.


Please share our stories with your loved ones and on social media using our hashtag #Mylove

Leave a comment